Day: November 4, 2009

One Year of Self-Motivation Left

One year to go on my PhD. And I am wondering if anyone had the brilliance to conceptualize these levels of self-doubt, time-idling, lethargy, self-frustration, and downright struggle I feel every hour to motivate myself to get some freakin’ work done. I’m not hiding anything here folks – I admit to joining the club of PhD procrastinators. The sideeffects of being a cultural creative. The temptations to just browse the net for new music, to facebook, and drink more coffee, are upon me. Oh, and to take on more and more projects that seem like they’ll never get finished.

Things I reccommend to those who are in the same situation as I am:

a) Cowork: Work with somebody/a group of people who are also freelancers.

b) Take real breaks. 15 minutes every hour to do all the stuff you were doing when you were procrastinating.

c) Get out of the house. Don’t only work at home! The bed is too close to your workspace! You’ll just roll into it at around 3pm and wake up at 4:30 wondering why you didn’t finish that last chapter…

Oh, and don’t blog. Yikes… what am I doing here then? Time to get back to work.

ps: I just submitted a residency proposal with my friend Alex. More info soon if/when we get accepted.